Nottingham’s independent bookshop | 14a Long Row, Nottingham NG1 2DH | 0115 8373097

Sixty-Four Chance Pieces : A Book of Changes

Buckingham, Will
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Earnshaw Books Limited
Published: August 27, 2015
ISBN: 9789888273027
260 pages


The Chinese “I Ching,” or “Book of Changes,” is one of the oldest and strangest of all books, a masterpiece of world literature, a divination manual, and a magnet for the deranged and the obsessive. In “Sixty-Four Chance Pieces,” novelist and philosopher Will Buckingham puts the “I Ching” to work, using it to weave together 64 stories of chance and change, each flowing from one of the “I Ching” s 64 hexagrams. Moving between myth, fable, and travel writing, the collection offers an attempt to make sense of the maddening, changeable book that is the “I Ching,” with tales of inventors and fox-spirits, ancient poets and nonexistent rulers, kleptomaniac pensioners and infernal bureaucrats. Like the “I Ching” itself, this new “Book of Changes” is a puzzle, a conundrum, and a journey of many transformations, where nothing is quite what it seems.”

Postage is calculated at 10% of your order value, up to a maximum of £3.00. There is a free postage option at checkout if you are housebound/shielding, on low income, or need help with postage costs for any other reason.  Your order will usually arrive within 2-3 working days. Delivery prices and times to other countries may vary (prices calculated at checkout).