logo-cropped

Nottingham’s independent bookshop | 14a Long Row, Nottingham NG1 2DH | 0115 8373097

Centroeuropa

Rahul Bery, Vicente Luis Mora
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Peninsula Press Ltd
Published: November 2, 2023
ISBN: 9781913512392
192 pages
Country of publication: United Kingdom

£10.99

Prussia, the early 19th century. As he attempts to bury his recently deceased wife, Redo Hauptshammer uncovers the frozen body of a uniformed soldier. As he continues to dig, the bodies start to pile up – all of them fallen cavalrymen bearing the secrets of an earlier era.

For readers of W. G. Sebald and Agustín Fernández Mallo, this archaeological novel digs into Europe’s soil, uncovering a long history of violence and expropriation. Mora’s writing is audacious, melancholy, and formally experimental. Each chapter is longer than the one that precedes it – as the bodies proliferate, the story keeps getting more complicated.

In a bold yet lyrical translation by Rahul Bery, Centroeuropa introduces English-speaking readers to one of Europe’s pre-eminent experimental prose writers currently at work.

Postage is calculated at 10% of your order value, minimum £1.00, up to a maximum of £3.00. There is a free postage option at checkout if you are housebound/shielding, on low income, or need help with postage costs for any other reason.  Your order will usually arrive within 2-3 working days.