logo-cropped

Nottingham’s independent bookshop | 14a Long Row, Nottingham NG1 2DH | 0115 8373097

Anti-Social : The secret diary of an anti-social behaviour officer

Pettigrew, Nick
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Cornerstone (Arrow Books Ltd)
Published: March 18, 2021
ISBN: 9781787464995
416 pages
Country of publication: United Kingdom

£8.99

Perfect for fans of The Secret Barrister and Adam Kay’s This is Going to Hurt. __________________________________’Superb. This hysterically funny and moving memoir of an anti-social behaviour officer is a real eye-opener that hits all the right notes’ FRANKIE BOYLE’Anti-Social is brutally honest, exceptionally funny and terribly sad – a scything indictment of broken 21st century Britain.

I could not put it down.’ THE SECRET BARRISTER’A fascinating insight into a job that stitches together the cracks in compassion in our communities’ RENI EDDO-LODGE, bestselling author of Why I Am No Longer Talking To White People About Race__________________________________Has your life become unbearable because the person living above you has a fondness for crack cocaine, the company of strangers and dance music? Or maybe you’re a social worker, mental health nurse, police officer, firefighter, dog warden or vicar and you’ve been landed with someone who’s a pain in the arse. Who are you going to call? That would be me: an anti-social behaviour officer. Anti-Social is the diary of a council worker whose job is to keep his community happy, or at least away from each other’s throats.

That’s hard enough at the best of times but when government cuts mean that hospitals, social services and police are all at breaking point, the possibility of complete chaos is never far away. This is an urgent, timely but, most of all, hysterically funny true story of a life spent working with the people society wants to forget and the problems that nobody else can resolve. This book will make you laugh, cry and boil with rage within a single sentence.

NOW WITH A NEW CHAPTER__________________________________AS SEEN ON BBC BREAKFAST AND ITV’S LORRAINE’Brilliant. This deserves to be a huge success – funny, sad and heartbreaking’ LORRAINE KELLY’I absolutely loved it. It reads like a novel, has that page-turning quality everyone looks for in a good book but it delivers the punch that only true life can – funny obviously but with humanity and warmth for people at the edges of society most in need of our understanding and compassion’ KIT DE WAAL, author of My Name Is Leon’Get this book.

… I’m telling you now, you will absolutely love this guy, what he has to say and the book that he has written. In equal parts devastating and dark and incredibly funny.’ NIHAL ARTHANAYAKE’Laugh-out-loud funny.

The delivery is punchy and the humour dark – think Irvine Welsh minus the Scottish vernacular’ EXPRESS’Darkly comic … think Adam Kay’s This is Going to Hurt but with more dead bodies (and not just human ones) and an abundance of cat shit. It’s a gloriously cynical read but it’s also sympathetic and deeply empathetic.’ KATHY BURKE’Riveting and brilliantly written…

a potent cocktail of heartbreak and horror; wickedly funny, wearily endearing and absolutely enraging’ CAROLINE SANDERSON, Bookseller’Extraordinary, fascinating, very moving and very funny’ CHRISTINE LAMPARD’A funny, thoughtful look into one of the toughest jobs I can imagine’ SHAPPI KORSANDI__________________________________Reader reviews for Anti-Social:’The timing of this book could not be better”It had me in stitches, it had me in tears”This is a must-read book”Politicians of all hues should be made to read this book”Readable and compulsive”Well written and stunningly well observed”The author and all his long-suffering, dedicated colleagues deserve dustbin lid-sized medals”Heartbreaking and hysterical”Top-drawer stuff … utterly riveting”I don’t often take the time to review books here, but would very much recommend Anti-Social.’

Postage is calculated at 10% of your order value, up to a maximum of £3.00. There is a free postage option at checkout if you are housebound/shielding, on low income, or need help with postage costs for any other reason.  Your order will usually arrive within 2-3 working days. Delivery prices and times to other countries may vary (prices calculated at checkout).