logo-cropped

Nottingham’s independent bookshop | 14a Long Row, Nottingham NG1 2DH | 0115 8373097

A Little History of Philosophy

Nigel Warburton
Format: Paperback
Publisher: YALE UNIVERSITY PRESS
Published: September 11, 2012
ISBN: 9780300187793
272 pages, 40 b-w illus.
Country of publication: United States

£10.99

For readers of E. H. Gombrich’s A Little History of the World, an equally irresistible volume that brings history’s greatest philosophers to life.

“A wonderful introduction for anyone who’s ever felt curious about almost anything.” – Sarah Bakewell, author of How To Live: A Life of Montaigne in One Question and Twenty Attempts at an Answer

How do I know what’s real? Is it ever right to lie? What does it mean to be free? Philosophy begins with questions about the nature of reality and how we should live. This engaging book introduces the great thinkers in Western philosophy and explores their most compelling ideas about the world and how best to live in it.

In forty brief chapters, Nigel Warburton provides interesting and often quirky stories of the lives and deaths of thought-provoking philosophers – from the ancients, who debated freedom and the spirit, to Peter Singer, who asks the disquieting philosophical and ethical questions that haunt our own times.

Warburton not only makes philosophy accessible, he offers inspiration to think, argue, reason and ask. A Little History of Philosophy presents the grand sweep of humanity’s search for philosophical understanding and invites all to join in the discussion.

Postage is calculated at 10% of your order value, minimum £1.00, up to a maximum of £3.00. There is a free postage option at checkout if you are housebound/shielding, on low income, or need help with postage costs for any other reason.  Your order will usually arrive within 2-3 working days.