Library of Ice, readings from a cold climate, with Nancy Campbell

Loading Map....

Date/Time
Date(s) - Wednesday, 28th November
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Location
Five Leaves Bookshop

Categories


Nancy Campbell combines memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing. 

Long captivated by the solid yet impermanent nature of ice, by its stark, rugged beauty,  poet and writer Nancy Campbell sets out from the world’s northernmost museum – at Upernavik in Greenland – to explore it in all its facets. From the Bodleian Library archives to the traces left by the great polar expeditions, from remote Arctic settlements to the ice houses of Calcutta, she examines the impact of ice on our lives at a time when it is itself under threat from climate change.

Image result for upernavik

The Library of Ice is a fascinating and beautifully rendered evocation of the interplay of people and their environment on a fragile planet, and of a writer’s quest to define the value of her work in a disappearing landscape.

Nancy read here in 2014 – then with early poems, some in Greenlandic/Inuit. Her reading was memorable. No doubt she will throw in the odd poem this time too, but this event is more in the nature of modern travel writing.

Admission: £4, including refreshments. Please let us know you are coming on events@fiveleaves.co.uk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *